Public Defender Commission

In 1979, the Public Defender statute (section 21-1-101, C.R.S.) was amended to create a Public Defender Commission. The Chief Justice of the Colorado Supreme Court now appoints Colorado citizens to serve on this commission, which consists of 3 attorneys and 2 lay persons.

The current members of the Public Defender Commission are:

Name Profession Region/ Location
Ty Gee Attorney Denver, CO
Tamara Brady Attorney Northern Colorado
Vincent Atchity Lay Representative Denver, CO
David Kaplan Attorney Denver, CO
Fran Simon Lay Representative Denver, CO


Contact the Public Defender Commission HERE

Megan A. Ring was appointed as the Colorado State Public Defender, effective August 1, 2018.