Interns and Volunteers

Law Student Internships

2019 Interns
2019 Summer Interns.

Throughout the year, and especially during the summer, the Colorado Public Defender offers a unique opportunity for law students to experience the world of indigent criminal defense.

***In order to keep interns, our staff, and our clients safe from the transmission of COVID-19, all internships will be conducted on a remote basis for the foreseeable future.***

The Colorado Public Defender is a state-wide system serving 64 counties with 21 regional offices, and an appellate office. The process for applying for an appellate division internship is published on our website HERE .

Certified Post-2L Interns

Certified intern positions are available for law students who have completed their second year at an accredited law school, are eligible for certification under Colorado’s student practice rule as set forth in Colo. RCP 205.7, and have submitted the Requisite Form to the Colorado Supreme Court Attorney Registration Office. Certified interns are assigned a caseload of misdemeanor, traffic or juvenile delinquency cases. Under the supervision of a licensed public defender, certified interns prepare cases outside of court and conduct pre-trial and post-trial hearings and sometimes jury trials. This demanding internship is an extraordinary opportunity to receive intensive courtroom advocacy experience. Summer certified interns participate in a week long rigorous training program before they begin their internship.

These duties and opportunities have been significantly restricted as a result of the remote nature of all internships in response to COVID-19. There may continue to be some opportunities to meet with clients and appear on video court depending on the jurisdictions and the client.

Uncertified Post-1L and 2L Interns

Volunteers and interns for credit conduct investigation, research criminal law issues, assist public defenders in misdemeanor and felony cases.

Undergraduate and Paralegal Internships

Some offices also provide opportunities for undergraduate students and paralegal students. Some of these duties and opportunities have been restricted as a result of the remote nature of all internships. 

Instructions for Applying for a paid Certified Summer Post-2L Internship:

We will accept application materials for summer paid intern positions for summer 2021 beginning August 17, 2020. If you are interested in applying, please send your cover letter and resume to Carol Gutierrez at carol.gutierrez@coloradodefenders.us

We are still assessing how many paid internships we can offer given the current state financial forecasts. It is possible we may not be able to offer any paid positions next summer.

In addition to the application materials, please let us know what offices you are interested in and your reasons for your interest in these offices. 

Instructions for Applying for an Unpaid Certified Non-Denver/Boulder Metro-Area Summer Internship:

We accept applications for summer internships in non-Denver/Boulder metro area offices starting on October 1st until the positions are filled.

We encourage you to consider interning in one of our offices outside of the Denver-Boulder metropolitan area as Denver/Boulder metro area internships are limited. If you would like to apply to any office other than the Denver/Boulder metro-area offices (which are Boulder, Denver, Golden, Brighton, Arapahoe, and Castle Rock), send an email with a cover letter and resume to:

Alamosa: Ms. Jamie Keairns, Jamie.Keairns@coloradodefenders.us
Arapahoe: Ms. Elsa Archambault, Elsa.Archambault@coloradodefenders.us
Brighton: Ms. Shannon Carson, Shannon.Carson@coloradodefenders.us
Boulder: Ms. April Coleman, April.Coleman@coloradodefenders.us
Castle Rock: Ms. Emily Valdez, Emily.Valdez@coloradodefenders.us
Colorado Springs: Deana O’Riley, Deana.O’Riley@coloradodefenders.us
Denver: Nicholas Webber, Nicholas.Webber@coloradodefenders.us
Dillon: Ms. Stacey Shobe, dillon.pubdef@coloradodefenders.us
Durango: Mr. Justin Bogan, justin.bogan@coloradodefenders.us
Ft. Collins: Ms. Tracy Lowrey, Mr. Matthew Morriss, fortcollins.pubdef@coloradodefenders.us
Glenwood Springs: Mr. Scott Troxell, Scott.Troxell@coloradodefenders.us
Golden: Ms. Jill Allen, Jill.Allen@coloradodefenders.us
Grand Junction: Mr. Steve Colvin, junction.pubdef@coloradodefenders.us
Greeley: Ms. Michele Newell, Michele.Newell@coloradodefenders.us
La Junta: Mr. Raymond Torrez, raymond.torrez@coloradodefenders.us
Montrose: Ms. Kori Zapletal, Kori.Zapletal@coloradodefenders.us
Pueblo: Mr. Alby Singleton, Albert.Singleton@coloradodefenders.us
Salida: Mr. Dan Zettler, daniel.zettler@coloradodefenders.us
Steamboat Springs: Ms. Sheryl Uhlmann, sheryl.uhlmann@coloradodefenders.us
Sterling: Mr. Brian Johnson, Brian.Johnson@coloradodefenders.us
Trinidad: Mr. Patrick McCarville, Patrick.McCarville@coloradodefenders.us

Instructions for Applying for an Undergraduate and Paralegal Internships/Externship:
Please contact the office where you are interested in interning if you are seeking an undergraduate or paralegal internship. Contact information for our 21 Regional Offices can be found HERE.

NON-DISCRIMINATION

The Office of the Colorado State Public Defender provides equal employment opportunities (EEO) to all employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, color, national origin, gender, age, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, disability or other protected status, in accordance with applicable federal, state and local laws.